Skip to main content

Urban Studies and Urban Affairs Resources - Oakland Campus: Getting Started

This guide serves as a resource to the interdisciplinary field of urban affairs and urban studies. It supports both GSPIA's Center for Metropolitan Studies and the Urban Studies program.

Quick guide to key databases

Databases provide good sources for the high quality, scholarly information needed for your research.  When you know the name of the database you want to search, start at the Databases A - Z (by Title) list.  If you’re not sure which database to search, you can search databases in a particular Subject, or just ask a librarian for guidance by calling 412-648-3330 or chatting online at Ask-A-Librarian.  Below is a table with brief descriptions of some of our best socio-economic political databases.

Title

Description

Academic (Lexis-Nexis)

newspapers, newswires, US court cases, international news

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)

interdisciplinary scholarly journals and news; comprehensive

Africa Wide NiPAD (EBSCO)

index of databases with material from or about Africa

Armed Conflict Database

fact sheets, maps, statistical reports

Columbia International Affairs Online -CIAO

working papers, occasional papers, conf proceedings

CountryWatch

up-to-date news, maps and geopolitical intelligence

CQ Researcher

historic background & analysis of current controversies;

Digital Dissertations  (ProQuest)

abstracts of dissertations back to 1861, full text for recent

EconLit   (EBSCO)

journals, book reviews, working papers, dissertations

Economist Intelligence Unit

international political & economic country forecasts and data

*Global Market Info Database/Passport (GMID) (Euromonitor)

economic, demographic and lifestyle statistics Euromonitor compiles from IMF, UN, World Bank…

International Financial Statistics (IMF)

exchange rates, commodity prices, country information

Public Affairs Info Service (PAIS) (CSA)

articles, conference reports, historic and current materials

Policy File

from public policy think tanks, research organizations

OECD iLibrary / was Source OECD

monographs, periodicals, interactive statistical data

Statesman’s Yearbook Online

yearly country profiles back to 1864 include economic, financial and political information

*Statistical Insight (Lexis-Nexis)

comprehensive access to statistical information

*United Nations Data Database

statistics from UN, WHO, UNESCO, World Bank

Women’s Studies International (EBSCO)

academic, popular, and grassroots periodicals

*World Development Indicators

time series economic and socio-economic data

World News Connection and Foreign Broadcast Info Service (FBIS)

compiled from non-US local news sources; WNC is current, FBIS is 1974-1996.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts   (CSA)

includes international relations, law, public administration

 

 


 

Related Guides & Resources

Liaison Librarian and Reference / Instruction

Lois Kepes's picture
Lois Kepes
Contact:
G20-X Hillman Library (Ground Floor)

412-648-7578
lois@pitt.edu

Tuesday evening appointments often available.
Website

Refining Your Search

It is highly unlikely that your first search will result in a perfect result set. Refining your search can return more relevant results, providing you with higher quality resources for your research. Use the tips below to refine your searches: