Skip to main content

EndNote @ Pitt: Add References & Files

Learn how to use EndNote Desktop and EndNote Online for their most common functions.

Adding References to Your Account

Export references into EndNote from a database or other resource. Many databases and online resources offer an option to export references directly into EndNote, or an option to save to a general citation manager. Either option will work.

Use EndNote to search library catalogs. You can use EndNote itself to search library catalogs. In the Online Search mode, you can find a list of these catalogs by clicking more in the Library pane of the EndNote window.

Create a New Reference by using the New Reference button. This option is especially good for nontraditional information sources like email or interviews.

Import references into EndNote. You can do this by saving a reference to your computer desktop as a text file, and then importing it into your account by using the Import option under the File drop-down menu.

Import from a File

You can import multiple references from RIS files or other citation management software into a Endnote account.

  1. Export the references from your other citation management software. If you don't see an option to export in EndNote format, use the RIS format.
  2. In EndNote Desktop, select Import from the File drop down menu.
  3. Navigate to the downloaded reference list and click Import.
  4. Once the processing is complete your records will appear in the Imported References folder

Adding the Capture web plug-in can replace this process. This will allow you to import citations directly from a variety of databases. For Capture to work best, you must be in a Capture compatible resource and at the individual item level (not in a list of citations).

Find Full Text

To find the full text articles of citations in your EndNote x8 library, you can use the "Find Full Text" tool by following these steps:

  1. From the top menu bar, choose Edit-->Preferences (For Mac users, choose: EndNote x8-->Preferences)
  2. Choose the Find Full Text option
  3. In the OpenURL Path field, copy and paste: http://RT4RF9QN2Y.search.serialssolutions.com
  4. In the Authenticate with: URL field, copy and paste: https://pitt.idm.oclc.org


Now you've authenticated yourself as an affiliate of the University of Pittsburgh, so when you search for full text it will search the licensed content available from the University Library System's databases. To have EndNote search for PDF full text, follow these steps:

  1. Highlight the article or articles (hold down the Shift key while clicking to highlight multiple citations at once)
  2. From the top menu bar, choose References-->Find Full Text-->Find Full Text
  3. Agree to the Copyright notification
  4. On the left-hand side of your library, you'll see a list showing the number of articles being searched for full text, how many were found, and how many were not found. If found, the PDF automatically attaches to the citation.

Download References from Databases

This video covers exporting reference information from Web of Science into EndNote. Many databases have an Export to EndNote option. Use the ResearchSoft Direct Export Helper as shown in the video.

Different browsers and operating systems will export references in different ways. For more information about using the Safari browser on a Mac, please see this article.

Attachments

You can build your own research database in EndNote.

Attaching files to a reference in EndNote Desktop

Option 1: Drag and drop files directly into the reference.

Option 2: Manually attach files

  1. When you export a reference into a EndNote account, it does not export any available full text; you must do this manually for each file you wish to add. Save the full text file of the document to the computer desktop or a USB drive.
  2. Once the reference is exported into your EndNote account, click on that reference, and then click the Attach Files icon (paper clip). Or double-click the reference to open the editing window and then click the Attach Files icon.
  3. Browse to the file and double-click to attach.

Attaching files to a reference in EndNote Online

  1. If you are viewing a list of references, click the file attachment button (paper clip) to open the File Attachments window. Then click Attach Files. (If you are viewing the full reference in the View Reference window, click Attach Files)
  2. The Upload Files window allows you to upload up to five files at a time. Click Browse to find the file you want to upload. When you have selected the file(s), click Upload.

Note: You cannot attach files in EndNote Online unless you sync it with your copy of EndNote Desktop.

Note: You can highlight and annotate PDF files in EndNote Desktop.

Find Full Text information from EndNote Training