Skip to main content

African Studies and African Country Resources @ Pitt: Subject Databases

This guide provides selected high-quality resources on the global, political, economic, social and cultural aspects of the continent of Africa and its countries. It features individual country pages as well as sources searchable by topic or country.

Key Interdisciplinary Databases for Starting Research

Below are several good general interdisciplinary databases that are useful when searching for articles about global themes and issues related to continents and individual countries. 

Arts & Humanities Databases

The databases below are useful when searching for Global Studies topics and articles related to the arts and humanities. The country, theme or topic you select may affect the databases you choose. You can find additional databases by checking Databases by Subject.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is often helpful for finding scholarly articles on your topic.

If you are on-campus, you will be able to view articles located in databases leased by the university. If you are off-campus, you may need to access the articles through pur EZProxy remote service. EZProxy will prompt you when you are accessing paid content.  See the instructions for connecting from off-campus on the ULS homepage.

Government and UN Related Databases

These databases, produced by the U.S. government and the United Nations, provide a wealth of information about continents and their countries including statistical information.

Literature Databases

The databases below are useful when searching for topics and articles related to literature. The country, theme or topic you select may affect the databases you choose. You can find additional databases by checking Databases by Subject.

Quick Links

Use these quick links to access lists of related databases, the listing of e-journals, or to access library services from off-campus.

Socioeconomic, Political, and International Affairs Databases

These databases provide information about cultural, social, economic, and political issues both within a country and between countries.