Skip to main content

Music Information and Research @ Pitt: An Overview: Scores and Other Printed Music

This guide is intended to provide an overview of resources available at the University of Pittsburgh for music-related research and study.

Composer Thematic Catalogs

The Music Library maintains an extensive collection of thematic catalogs for individual composers. These reference books describe and index the works of the various composers, including detailed historical and bibliographic information as well as musical incipits.

Some of the most popular thematic catalogs include Schmieder's catalog of the works of J.S. Bach (Bach-Werke-Verzeichnis or BWV) and Köchel's catalog of the works of Mozart. But the library holds similar catalogs for many different composers, generally shelved in the rML134 section and alphabetical by the composer's name; these are important sources of information for serious research into the works of the great composers.

Scores and Other Printed Music

The Music Library has an extensive collection of printed music available for circulation, including orchestral scores, opera and musical theater vocal scores, chamber music sets including scores and parts, piano and other solo instrumental music, and much more. All of this music is available for discovery in the University Library System's online catalog.

Composers' Complete Works Editions

In addition to the circulating collection of printed music, the Music Library also has a large reference collection of scores. These include monuments and complete works editions for all the major composers, including Bach, Beethoven, Chopin, Debussy, Handel, Haydn, Mozart, Schoenberg, Schubert, Wagner, and many more. These are located in the rM3 section of the Music Library's reference collection.

While a few composers' complete works are being made available online, such as the Neue Mozart Ausgabe, these scholarly printed editions remain indispensable and, as such, form the core of our music research collection.

Popular Song Indexes

The Music Library's collection includes many books containing the music to popular songs. Our reference collection includes several indexes to these songbooks, such as the Song Index of the Enoch Pratt Free Library, which list song titles alphabetically and citations to the anthologies where they can be found.

Additionally, the Music Library has a home-made index to jazz and pop songs in fake books for finding all those old standards you might want to learn. Inquire at the Music Library's reference or circulation desks.