Skip to main content

Music Information and Research @ Pitt: An Overview: Audio / Visual Materials

This guide is intended to provide an overview of resources available at the University of Pittsburgh for music-related research and study.

Jazz Music Library

Jazz Music Library is the largest and most comprehensive collection of streaming jazz available online- with thousands of jazz artists, ensembles, albums, and genres- spanning the entire history of jazz and including the catalogs of several important record labels.

JML is available as an individual database, or as part of the federated Music Online interface.

Smithsonian Global Sound

Smithsonian Global Sound (SGS), produced in partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, is a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. The collection provides educators, students, and interested listeners with an unprecedented variety of online resources that support the creation, continuity, and preservation of diverse musical forms. Among other collections, SGS includes almost the entire catalog of the Folkways record label.

SGS is available as an individual database, or as part of the federated Music Online interface.

American Song

American Song is a historical database that allows people to hear and feel the music from America's past. The database includes songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys. Included in the database are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests, and more. American Song is available as an individual database, or as part of the federated Music Online interface.

Audio / Visual Materials

The study of music would be incomplete without the use of sound and video recordings. Pitt's Music Library maintains ever-growing collections of CDs and DVDs (not to mention collections of older media such as VHS tapes, vinyl LP albums, and audio cassettes), and they are all available for discovery in the library's online catalog. These collections are restricted to in-library use, for which the library has plenty of listening and viewing stations. Pitt students and faculty can get permission to take recordings out of the library on a case-by-case basis, when those recordings are needed for a specific academic use such as a classroom presentation.

In addition to providing these "traditional" A/V media, Pitt is also making audio / visual materials available electronically by subscribing to various streaming audio and video databases. These databases allow members of the Pitt community to watch and listen to recordings online, whether on-campus or remotely. Other features of these database include liner notes, cover art, biographical information, and the ability of users to create customized playlists. Most of these databases are available through Alexander Street Press's Music Online interface. This web page will provide an overview of the streaming audio and video databases to which Pitt subscribes.

Classical Music Library

Classical Music Library (CML) is the world's largest multi-label database of Classical music recordings for listening and learning in libraries. Coverage includes music written from the earliest times (e.g. Gregorian Chant) to the present, and is especially strong for the Classical and Romantic periods. Repertoire ranges from vocal and choral music, to chamber, orchestral, solo instrumental, and opera.

CML is available as an individual database, or as part of the federated Music Online interface.

Opera in Video

Opera in Video contains five hundred hours of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. Selections represent the world’s best performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a work’s importance to the operatic canon. Opera in Video is available as an individual database, or as part of the federated Music Online interface.

Ethnographic Video Online

Ethnographic Video Online is a streaming video database which includes footage from all over the world, representing hundreds of unique cultures. As it contains some musical content, this database can be useful in the study of world music and other ethnomusicological topics.

Database of Recorded American Music (DRAM)

DRAM's primary focus is the preservation and dissemination of important recordings that have been neglected by the commercial marketplace, recordings that may otherwise become lost or forgotten. The touchstone of the collection is the diverse catalogue of American music represented by the New World and CRI record labels. DRAM provides access to music that is largely underrepresented in the Music Online databases, especially contemporary/modern composition and improvisation. In addition to the sound recordings, DRAM includes all the liner notes and essays that originally accompanied the recordings.

Contemporary World Music

Contemporary World Music delivers sounds of all regions from every continent. This database contains more modern recordings and genres than those found in Smithsonian Global Sound. Contemporary World Music is available as an individual database, or as part of the federated Music Online interface.