Banner Image

Finding Maps - Oakland Campus: Home

This guide provides information on the map resources available in Hillman Library and on the Web.

Other Guides to Maps @ Pitt

Useful Databases and Websites for Finding Maps

Our Map Collection

The Hillman Library map collection contains a wide variety of maps:

  • General maps include resources such as historical, thematic, and road maps, and maps published by the National Geographic Society and the Army Map Service and Defense Mapping Agency..
  • Government Publications maps are maps received from the U.S. government through Federal Depository Library Program. These include CIA maps, census maps, forestry maps, and maps from various other government agencies.
  • Our USGS Topographic Maps, also received through the depository program, provide detailed topographic coverage in various scales for the entire U.S.
  • In addition to all of these paper maps, we have geographic data available through the GIS Service Center.

Location of our Map Collection

The Hillman Library map collection is located in the Microforms area on the ground floor of the library. When you enter on the ground floor, the entrance to Microforms is on the other side of the floor and slightly to your left.

 

Liaison Librarian

Tom Twiss
Contact:
207C Hillman Library
University of Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh, PA 15260

412-648-7730

Liaison Librarian

Mark C. Scott
Contact:
University of Pittsburgh

207E Hillman Library

Pittsburgh, PA 15260



412-383-5097 (phone)

412-648-7733 (fax)