Skip to main content

News Reporting - Oakland Campus: University Facts & Offices

This guide is for Harry Kloman's ENGWRT 0610, Introduction to Journalism and Nonfiction.

University of Pittsburgh

Official Pitt Publications

University Times is the "Pitt News" for your faculty types. Searchable online from 1994.

Try the Fact Book for yearly statistics on enrollment, staffing, and other facts about Pitt (from 1996-present on the Office of Institutional Research page, for older ones see the Documenting Pitt collection, right.)

More links on IR's page for Facts & Publications.

All things financial on the CFO's page.

Looking for a Faculty Expert at Pitt or UPMC?

University Archives, Historic Pittsburgh Online & Pitt News

Everything you ever wanted to know about the Archives is in this Pitt Library Guide. There are many specialized collections housed by the Archives, and more material is scanned daily for their online collections.

HISTORIC PITTSBURGH has old maps, the regional 1850-1870 Census, really old books about our city, photos and even portraits and landscapes.

DOCUMENTING PITT has old photos, yearbooks, sports, the University Fact Book, and much more!

PITT UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES GUIDE

The Pitt News

The Pitt News site is searchable by keyword back to the mid 2000's.

1. Search LexisNexis Academic database 1998 thru present (not 100%)

2. BROWSE Microfilm in Hillman for 1910-2004 (1999-2004 incomplete)

NOTE: MICROFILM IS BY APPT ONLY DURING BUILDING RENNOVATION

3. Documenting Pitt has The Courant for 1888-1910 in the ULS Digital Archives

4. Pitt News 1910 to 1998 NEW on the Documenting Pitt Site!

Also try Google News Archive, Google Site:PittNews.com and the Wayback Machine!

More People & Places

Try this list of Reference Databases for biographical information & directories.

The Encyclopedia of Associations lets you search for non-profit, membership organizations anywhere in the world in a variety of ways, including name, location, budget, officers, description, and over a dozen more.

In Hillman we also have many current print resources for basic biographical information on known academics, writers, and other individuals with a public profile. Ask at the main Service Desk on the Ground Floor for a map and some help finding the set you need.