Skip to main content

Major American Dramatists - Johnstown Campus: Finding Books

a guide library resources for ENGLIT1420 with Dr. Zauhar

Can't Find It?

If the Pitt libraries don’t have the book or article you want, try these free services:

Get It!  Use this to request a book from another Pitt library.  Click on the Get It! symbol in the catalog record, and fill out the form.  You will need your Pitt ID number to use Get It!

EZ-Borrow – Borrow an item from one of 45 other university libraries -- fast!  You will need your Pitt ID number to use EZ-Borrow.

Interlibrary Loan – If EZ-Borrow doesn’t have what you need, you can order a book or article through the Requests from Other Libraries page. 

Searching Techniques

Combining Search Terms  -- You can craft complex searches using  Boolean operators AND, OR, and  NOT.  These operators must be written in ALL CAPS.  The PittCat+ searching default is the AND operator. 

Phrase Searching -- PittCat+ allows for phrase searching with the use of “  “  .  For example, the search "pittsburgh renaissance”  will find items with the phrase pittsburgh renaissance in them.

Wildcard and Trucation – You can use wildcard (*) and truncation (?) symbols to search PittCat+. 

PITTCat+

Search PITTCat+ for articles, books, & more

 

 

PITTCat+ is the gateway searching tool for all of the materials owned by the University Library system (ULS), including articles, books, e-books, journals, e-journals, e-audio and e-video, digital images, government documents, microfilm and movies.

 

Searching PITTCat+

Enter your search terms and click on the Search Library button. PITTCat+ will offer correct spellings, and search for variations of our search terms. 

The Result List will include articles, books, e-materials, and images. Click on the title of an item for more detailed information about the item, such as an abstract or the shelf location for a book. If full-text content is available, you can get the full-text by clicking on the item title or the "full text online" link. 

You can Refine Your Results by using the options on the left. Narrow your results to items in the catalog, a specific campus, format, publication date, limiting to scholarly information, and more.

If Full-Text Content is available, you can get the full-text by clicking on the item title or the "full text online" link.

 

Print, Save, & Export

PITTCat+ full text iconIf you see a full text icon, click on that icon to access the full text. 

To save a list of records, mouse-over the upper right corner of each record in the result list to display the Save this item folder icon. Click on the folder icon to save items to the Saved Items folder that displays at the bottom of your screen. You can print, email, or export your selected records from this temporary folder.

Use the export feature in the folder to save the items to your account in RefWorks, EndNote, or other citation management product.

Related Guides

Here are other Libguides that may interest you.