Finding Background Information

Chances are that you are not yet an expert on your play/playwright. This means you probably aren't sure how to begin searching for books and articles yet. No worries! Pitt has several online encyclopedia products that you can use to get more information before you start the nitty-gritty research. You can access these products from on- and off-campus.

NOTE: Using encyclopedias is a great way to start thinking about your topic, but they will not be accepted as sources for your paper in this class. You are not wasting your time by reading 2 or 3 short encyclopedia entries! You will be better equipped to find the sources you will use for your paper if you do this.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Online reference library that provides access to a selection of reference books. CredoReference also includes cross-references to other full text titles containing related information.

The Cambridge Guide to Theatre
"The Cambridge Guide to Theatre offers a wealth of information on the history and present practice of theatre in all parts of the world. Written by a team of international experts, it clearly depicts the dynamic interaction of performance traditions from all cultures in present-day theatre. While saluting the history and traditions of 'high' art in the theatre, the Guide also celebrates the importance of 'low' art."

Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
The Encyclopaedia Britannica is the world's most comprehensive reference product, a distinction it has held since its first publication in 1768. Through this service, you can find more than 72,000 articles, updated and revised by EB editors and contributors; over 10,000 illustrations, including photographs, drawings, maps, and flags; and more than 75,000 definitions -- including pronunciation guides and word histories -- from Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary.
Biography Reference Bank This link opens in a new window
Biography Reference Bank contains Wilson Biographies Plus Illustrated and Biography Index Plus, in one integrated database. Wilson Biographies Plus contains more than 95,000 biographies and obituaries and more than 26,000 photographs of the subjects. Many of the biographies are enhanced with full text, abstracts, and citations from H. W. Wilson databases.

University of Pittsburgh Library System

Course & Subject Guides

Introduction to Theatre Arts - Greensburg Campus

Finding Background Information