Online Reference Resources - Visual & Performing Arts Timeline - Greensburg Campus

General Reference Resources

These resources should help you to find information about the general historical keywords and events that you've been asked to include in your timeline.

Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
The Encyclopaedia Britannica is the world's most comprehensive reference product, a distinction it has held since its first publication in 1768. Through this service, you can find more than 72,000 articles, updated and revised by EB editors and contributors; over 10,000 illustrations, including photographs, drawings, maps, and flags; and more than 75,000 definitions -- including pronunciation guides and word histories -- from Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Online reference library that provides access to a selection of reference books. CredoReference also includes cross-references to other full text titles containing related information.
Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Gale Ebooks is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

Online Art History Reference Resources

You can access these resources both on- and off- campus.

Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Database allows you to search within Grove Art Online, the Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encylopedia of Aesthetics, and the Consice Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.

The Bloomsbury Guide to Art
"The Bloomsbury Guide to Art is one of the most up-to-date and comprehensive surveys of the history of art and architecture available today. It is an invaluable reference source and provides a fascinating insight into the origins and significance of the work of Western artists and architects."
The Thames & Hudson Dictionary of Art and Artists
"International and up-to-date, this copiously cross-referenced dictionary provides information on a consuderable number of artists, paintings, sculptures, drawings, prints, schools and movements, including essential information on contemporary art and artists, not available elsewhere, and on techniques, materials, terms, and writers who have influenced artists."
Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History
"The Metropolitan Museum of Art's Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History is funded by the Heilbrunn Foundation, New Tamarind Foundation, and Zodiac Fund. The Timeline is a chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world, as illustrated by the Museum's collection."
Glossary of Medieval Art and Architecture

Online Music Reference Resources

Grove Music Online This link opens in a new window
Grove Music Online is universally acknowledged as the unsurpassed English-language authority on all aspects of music.

You can access these resources both on- and off- campus.

The Harvard Biographical Dictionary of Music
"An incomparable guide to the thousands of characters, from humble artisan to lofty genius, who people the unfolding history of music, this volume brings together all the pertinent biographical information about composers, performers, music theorists, and instrument makers from the days of praise chants to the bop and pop of today."
The Harvard Dictionary of Music
"Combining authoritative scholarship and lucid, lively prose, the Fourth Edition of The Harvard Dictionary of Music is the essential guide for musicians, students, and everyone who appreciates music."

Oxford History of Western Music This link opens in a new window
The Oxford History of Western Music online offers an unmatched account of the evolution of Western classical music by one of the most prominent and provocative musicologists of our time, Richard Taruskin.

Online Theatre Reference Resources

You can access these resources both on- and off- campus.

The Cambridge Guide to Theatre
"The Cambridge Guide to Theatre offers a wealth of information on the history and present practice of theatre in all parts of the world. Written by a team of international experts, it clearly depicts the dynamic interaction of performance traditions from all cultures in present-day theatre. While saluting the history and traditions of 'high' art in the theatre, the Guide also celebrates the importance of 'low' art."

University of Pittsburgh Library System

Course & Subject Guides

Visual & Performing Arts Timeline - Greensburg Campus

Contact a Librarian

Need research help? We'll meet with you!

Helpful Links

General Reference Resources

Online Art History Reference Resources

Online Music Reference Resources

Online Theatre Reference Resources