Managing International Organizations - Oakland Campus: Databases
This guide is a starting point for doing research on international organizations such as the World Bank, the UN, the EU, other major organizations. It is designed to be used with GSPIA 2011 Managing International Organizations and similar classes.
Europa World Plus is a good starting point for background information on an organization as it provides a comprehensive up to date directory of over 2,0000 international organizations. It also features the "Europa Regional Surveys of the World" which provide expert analysis at regional, sub-regional and country level for over 250 countries and territories. Detailed comparative international statistics are also included. Archival online yearbooks from 2006 on.
Comprehensive index to articles, books, websites, statistics, yearbooks, directories, conference proceedings, pamphlets, reports, government documents, grey literature, and microfiches on political, social, public policy issues from 1915 to date. Choose the "Archive" for historical information.
Coverage of over 400 major economic journals as well as articles in collective volumes (like essays and conference proceedings), books, book reviews, dissertations, and working papers. Topics range from economics and finance to economic development.
Foreign country news. Try searching for the organization by both name and acronym. CIAO which focuses on country's international affairs includes detailed country maps, journal articles, university working papers, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences
Another database for foreign country news. Try searching similar terms as in CIAO. CountryWatch provides up-to-date information and news on the countries of the world. The Country Reviews section provides a political and economic survey.
EBSCO's comprehensive sociology database is a good source for material dealing with social issues. Abstracts go back to 1985 from 600 core sociology journals, as well as of articles from other scholarly journals, monographs, and conference papers.
Use these quick links to access lists of related databases, the listing of e-journals, or to access library services from off-campus.
Access to full-text library resources from off-campus is easy!
Search as you normally do, click on the link to full-text, log in with your Pitt email login and password, and you're good to go for your entire searching session! Access will work best if you stay in the same browser.