Skip to main content

United Nations Documents & Publications - Oakland Campus: League of Nations Materials

This guide is designed to help library users to find United Nations materials in Hillman Library and on the web.

The League of Nations

The League of Nations was an intergovernmental organization created in 1919 with the goals of preventing war through collective security and disarmament and settling international disputes through negotiation and arbitration. At its peak it had 58 member states. The United States never joined. The League essentially ceased functioning during World War II, and was disbanded in 1946 when it was superseded by the United Nations.

The ULS has an extensive collection of materials produced by the League of Nations in both print and microfilm. Much of the print collection of League documents and publications is in ULS storage.

The League of Nations Treaty Series is included in the United Nations Treaty Series on the United Nations Treaty Collection database.

League of Nations materials in the Pitt Libraries

This set of 555 reels of microfilm includes documents and serial publications of the League of Nations. An online guide from Gale gives a very helpful overview of the materials within the scope of the collection. To see a list of particular documents, it is best to download the list of documents arranged by reel or author.  We also have League of Nations Documents, 1919-1946: A Descriptive Guide and Key to the Microfilm Collection, available in print in the Microforms Collection. 

(Pitt users only) The League of Nations Official Journal is available through Hein Online. 

The League of Nations Treaty Series is included in the United Nations Treaty Collection database.

League of Nations materials online

(Grateful acknowledgement is given to Melanie Maksin at Yale University Library for permission to use elements on this page.) 

Liaison Librarian

Christopher Lemery's picture
Christopher Lemery
Contact:
207E Hillman Library
412-648-3925