Skip to main content

Dissertations @ Pitt: Pitt Dissertations

This guide will help you locate dissertations and theses from the University of Pittsburgh, national, and international institutions.

Pitt Dissertations 2004 - Present

The University of Pittsburgh has developed an university-wide digital repository system called D-Scholarship that contains our Electronic Theses and Dissertations (ETDs). This system provides text-based PDF files of thesis and dissertations published through the university from 2004 forward. ETDs can contain non-text elements such as multimedia, sound, video, and hypertext links. At Pitt, ETDs are also available on PITTCat+, the university's online catalog. This enables scholars worldwide to locate, search, and download Pitt's ETDs. Over 2,400 ETDs have been published by the university since summer 2008.

Pitt Dissertations Before 2004

If you are trying to locate theses and dissertations published before 2004 by the university, search PITTCat Classic. Some Pitt theses and dissertations may also be full-text in ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (1997-Present).

PITTCat Classic is an excellent starting point for locating print dissertations and theses in the University Library System. Dissertations are held in various ULS locations including Hillman Library, Hillman Library Microforms, Archives Service Center, Storage Facilities, and Departmental Libraries.

You may find some print dissertations and theses on the Ground Floor of Hillman Library. These are located in the encyclopedia alcove on the ground floor and are arranged in alphabetical order. The bulk of Hillman Library Microform's large collection of Pitt Master's Theses and Doctoral Dissertations from most schools dates from the 1930's to the present. Archives does have some materials dating back to the late 1800's.

Pitt Dissertations and Theses in Hillman Library

Hillman Library Microforms has a large collection of Pitt Master's Theses and Doctoral Dissertations from most schools from the 1930's to the present (and some earlier dates). After finding an item in PITTCat Classic that has the Microforms location, contact or go to Microforms to view it there.

Hillman Library has a small print collection of Pitt Master's Theses and Doctoral dissertations from 2000-2004. These are located in the encyclopedia alcove on the ground floor and are arranged in alphabetical order.

Pitt Dissertations and Theses in Archives

The Archives Service Center has a collection of some Master's Theses and PhD dissertations from the College of Arts & Sciences on microfiche from the 1930's to the present. Access is restricted to use while in the Archives Reading Room. Please send a request for a search of a specific thesis or dissertation directly to the Archives at archives-ref@mail.pitt.edu.

Pitt Dissertations and Theses in Storage

Some items, print or microform, may also be held in ULS Storage. Place a Get It! request from the PITTCat record to have the item brought to a campus library.

Can't find the full text?

If you can't locate the full text for a dissertation or thesis, you have several options...