Skip to main content

Latin American Resources @ Pitt: Newspapers

This guide is designed to highlight important resources for the study of Latin America and the Caribbean as well as to identify major national and international resources.

At Pitt

 

Latin American Newspapers   [Restricted to Pitt Users] 
Provides access to 33 fully searchable Latin American Newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries. 
Latin American Newsstand [Restricted to Pitt Users] 
ProQuest Latin American Newsstand provides over 40 full text       
LatinNews    [Restricted to Pitt Users] 
LatinNews is a comprehensive, reliable, accurate and timely source of insight into key events that shape the region. 
Latinamerica Press    [Restricted to Pitt Users]  
Latinamerican Press provides news, articles, interviews, statistics, special editions, and multimedia

CRL Global Resources Network

Google Digitized Newspapers

TITLE

# OF ISSUES

DATES

Diario del Hogar 

(MEXICO) 8,477 issues

Sep 16, 1881 - Nov 15, 1914

El Abogado Cristiano  

(MEXICO) 1,047 issues

Aug 1, 1880 - Dec 26, 1929

El Alacran 

(MEXICO) 34 issues

Sep 3, 1899 - May 19, 1900

El Asilo de Mendigos

(MEXICO) 38 issues

Jul 1, 1879 - Oct 31, 1889

El Bautista

(MEXICO) 127 issues

May 19, 1910 - Dec 26, 1912

El Correo del Comercio

(MEXICO) 1,374 issues

Sep 15, 1871 - Oct 12, 1876

El Correo Español  

(MEXICO) 7,147 issues

Nov 9, 1889 - Dec 31, 1914

El Cronista Musical

34 issues

May 1, 1887 - Dec 25, 1887

El Cruzado

(MEXICO) 60 issues

Jul 22, 1893 - Sep 16, 1894

El Diario de Nueva York

(USA, New York) 248 issues

Jan 2, 1962 - Apr 29, 1963

El Diario la Prensa

(USA, New York) 689 issues

May 2, 1963 - Jun 21, 1968

El Monitor Republicano

(MEXICO) 469 issues

Jul 1, 1884 - Dec 31, 1885

El Nacional

(MEXICO) 3,784 issues

Apr 1, 1890 - Dec 31, 1918

El Pais 

(MEXICO) 4,423 issues

Sep 26, 1900 - Aug 22, 1914

El Pajaro Verde

(MEXICO) 1,960 issues

May 13, 1865 - Dec 31, 1886

El Partido Liberal

(MEXICO) 2,777 issues

Nov 13, 1886 - Oct 15, 1896

El Siglo Diez Y Nueve

(MEXICO) 967 issues

Jun 25,1893 - Oct 15, 1896

El Tiempo

(COLOMBIA) 21,397 issues

Feb 2, 1911 - Mar 31, 2007

El Universal 

(MEXICO) 5,194 issues

Nov 16, 1848 - Dec 7, 1901

Jornal do Brasil 

(BRAZIL) 18,167 issues

Apr 8, 1891 - Dec 31, 1999

La Nacion

(COSTA RICA) 9,480 issues

Nov 13, 1945 - Dec 31, 1991

La Opinion

(USA, Los Angeles) 23,971 issues

Mar 8, 1891 - Sep 30, 2008

La Sociedad 

(MEXICO) 1,915 issues

Dec 26, 1857 - Mar 31, 1867

Beyond Pitt

Painting by  Fernando Botero

  • ABYZ News Links   Americas Newspapers and News Media - Countries and Regional.
  • Granma Archives Index  This is a searchable Spanish-language data base of articles published from 1965 to 1992 in the official daily newspaper of the Cuban Communist Party, Granma. This data base provides bibliographic references for the articles, including headlines, length of the article, date, and author. Full-text of the articles is not available online.  Use WorldCat to find libraries with holdings for Granma.
  • LANE Union List of Newspapers     This list includes LANE members' combined holdings of currently received Latin American Newspapers, news and business magazines. It is a work in progress and some of the information may not be up to date. 
  • Latin American Newspapers    Large listing by country, compiled by Zona Latina
  • SciELO   Free database containing the full text of scientific and social sciences journal articles from Latin America . Articles are available in either English, Portuguese or Spanish.

          

Diario de la Marina (Cuban Newspaper)