Skip to main content

Social Theory, A Global Perspective - Oakland Campus: Finding Articles

This guide examines social theory & change through historical examinations of variations in the economy, the state, immigration, racial dynamics and class inequality in the West. The guide and Courses like (Soc 0351) focus on a global perspective.

Key Interdisciplinary Databases for Starting Research

Below are several good general interdisciplinary databases that are useful when searching for articles about global themes and issues related to continents and individual countries. 

On the Web . . .

News Sources

Article Databases

Databases are great sources for articles because databases offer the high quality, scholarly information that most professors want.  If you know the name of the database you want to search, start at the Databases A-Z by Title list.  If you’re not sure which database to search, you can search databases in a particular Subject, or just ask a librarian for guidance by calling 412-648-3331 or chatting online at Ask-A-Librarian.  The databases below are excellent starting points for your research.

What is Scholarly Information?

Instructors often ask students to find “scholarly”, “academic”, or “peer reviewed” sources of information for their research.  These terms all refer to the same type of information – sources based on in-depth research, and are considered higher in quality and more reliable for your research. These sources can range from chapters within books or entire books, or journal articles, but all have common characteristics that can help you recognize that type of information.

Scholarly

  • Written for professors, students or researchers.
  • Have a plain appearance and titles may include words like "Journal," "Transactions," or "Quarterly”.
  • Articles are reviewed by a board of experts or "peer reviewed."
  • Follow a standard format: abstract, literature review, methodology, results, conclusion, possibly footnotes, endnotes and/or bibliography.
  • May include tables, graphs or illustrations to support research.
  • Very little advertising.

General Purpose (Popular)

  • May have a bright cover with many glossy pictures.
  • Designed to attract a broad segment of the population.
  • No specific format.
  • Articles sometimes unsigned.
  • General editors of the magazine review articles.
  • May include tables, graphs or illustrations.
  • Lots of advertising.

Trade/Professional publications

  • May have a bright cover.
  • Provide information of use to a particular industry.
  • No specific format.
  • Articles sometimes unsigned.
  • General editors of the magazine review articles.
  • Advertising is used to appeal to those in the field.

Watch This!

Learn how to recognize and cite scholarly articles.

Click on the image to watch the video 

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is often helpful for finding scholarly articles on your topic. Many articles will provide links to other articles that have cited the first article. Some articles may contain statistical content. 

Access Our Library Anywhere!

Access to full-text library resources from off-campus is easy! 

Search as you normally do, click on the link to full-text, log in with your Pitt email login and password, and you're good to go for your entire searching session! Access will work best if you stay in the same browser.

Need Help? Chat with us!

 

For more ways to ask your question,
please visit Ask Us/FAQs