Skip to main content

Multimedia Database Tools for Faculty: Image Collections

A guide to the multimedia tools of databases for personal and online classroom use.

Images Available from the ULS

The ULS D-Scribe digital collections include many image collections of maps, photography, and other forms of art. The collections range from the Audubon's Birds of America to Historic Pittsburgh to a Japanese wood block print collection.

Pittsburgh, circa 1804 -- Painted by George Beck

To find an image, click on the link below and, using a search term that describes the item you are looking for, refine by image.

Historic Pittsburgh

Historic Pittsburgh, one digital collection in D-Scribe, is a comprehensive collection of local resources that supports personal and scholarly research of the western Pennsylvania area.

This collection has access to historic material held by many different cultural heritage institutions in Pittsburgh, including Pitt’s Archives Service Center.

Artstor

Artstor has collections of over 500,000 digital art images and associated data. Images are international in scope and coverage includes a wide variety of civilizations, time-periods and media.

Create an account to save groups of images and share them with your students.

Oxford Art Online

Oxford Art online is a portal for encyclopedia articles and images of art that offers you the ability to acesss and cross-search searches across four art reference resources: 

  • Grove Art Online
  • The Oxford Companion to Western Art
  • Encyclopedia of Aesthetics
  • The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms

Cinema Image Gallery

The Cinema Image Gallery is an online collection of still images from movies, television and the entertainment industry.

Cinema Image Gallery includes over 150,000 superior-quality images, along with a over 4,000 poster art and lobby cards used to promote the movies.

Art Full Text

Art Full Text is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals published throughout the world. In addition to articles, Art Full Text indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.

Art Index Retrospective

Art Index Retrospective is a bibliographic database that cumulates citations to Art Index volumes 1-32 of the printed index published between 1929 and 1984. In addition to articles, Art Index Retrospective indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.