Skip to main content

Journalism & Nonfiction Writing - Oakland Campus: News Resources

This guide is for students taking ENGWRT 0610: Introduction to Journalism & Nonfiction

Newspapers for Background & Context

Every breaking news story begins in the middle. To predict where the story might go tomorrow, it helps to know where it started, and what happened yesterday or last year.  The Pittsburgh & Regional Newspapers Guide will help you find out what newspapers we have and how to find them, going back in some cases for 100 years or more.

Current local newspaper stories can also guide you to sources for interviews, alert you to when and how to contact city, county or state agencies and officials, and lead you to related legislation and elected representatives.

Historical news stories can be a Primary Source when writing about the past.

News You Can Use

Historical Newspapers

University Archives, Historic Pittsburgh Online & The Pitt News

There are many specialized collections housed by the Archives, and more material is scanned daily for their online collections.

HISTORIC PITTSBURGH has old maps, the regional 1850-1870 Census, really old books about our city, photos and even portraits and landscapes.

DOCUMENTING PITT has old photos, yearbooks, sports, the University Fact Book, and much more!

PITT NEWS ARCHIVES - The Pitt News site is searchable by keyword for several years back.

  1. Search Academic LexisNexis database 1998 thru present
  2. BROWSE Microfilm in Hillman for 1932-2004 (1999-2004 incomplete)
  3. Documenting Pitt has The Courant for 1888-1910 in the ULS Digital Archives