Skip to main content

Introduction to Sociology - Oakland Campus: Finding Books

This guide is intended to prepare students in SOC 0010 to find resources in sociology.

Sociology Materials Recently Added to the Collection

Can't Find It?

If we do not have a particular book, article or other resource in our collection, you can borrow it from another campus or local, national or worldwide library through our free interlibrary loan services.


Search PITTCat+ for articles, books, & more



PITTCat+ is the gateway searching tool for all of the materials owned by the University Library system (ULS), including articles, books, e-books, journals, e-journals, e-audio and e-video, digital images, government documents, microfilm and movies.


Searching PITTCat+

Enter your search terms and click on the Search Library button. PITTCat+ will offer correct spellings, and search for variations of our search terms. 

The Result List will include articles, books, e-materials, and images. Click on the title of an item for more detailed information about the item, such as an abstract or the shelf location for a book. If full-text content is available, you can get the full-text by clicking on the item title or the "full text online" link. 

You can Refine Your Results by using the options on the left. Narrow your results to items in the catalog, a specific campus, format, publication date, limiting to scholarly information, and more.

If Full-Text Content is available, you can get the full-text by clicking on the item title or the "full text online" link.


Liaison Librarian

Aimee Sgourakis's picture
Aimee Sgourakis
207C Hillman Library, Second Floor

Need Help? Chat with us!


For more ways to ask your question,
please visit Ask Us/FAQs