Finding Articles - Biology and Chemistry Capstone - Greensburg Campus

Biology & Chemistry Databases, Journals & Articles

American Chemical Society ACS Journals This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 40 ACS journals, covering chemical biology, analytical chemistry, biochemistry, and more.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This scholarly collection provides journal coverage for most academic areas of study, including biological sciences, economics, communications, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences and women's studies. This is an EBSCOHost database.
Biosis Previews This link opens in a new window
BIOSIS Previews combines the content of both Biological Abstracts and Biological Abstracts/RRM (Reports, Reviews, Meetings), thus providing comprehensive coverage of nearly 5,500 life science journals as well as 1,500 items from international meetings, review articles, books, book chapters, patents, and software reviews.
Knovel Engineering and Scientific Online References This link opens in a new window
Database of the fulltext of some of the leading engineering reference handbooks, databases, and conference proceedings. Provides tabular and graphical data, including facts, figures, formulas and definitions.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Reaxys This link opens in a new window
The Reaxys database provides detailed information on the reactions and properties, including bioactivities, of millions of chemical substances, along with chemical catalog information and literature references. Specialty features such as structure and reaction searching are included.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science provides access to Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts and Humanities Citation Index.

More Biology Databases
You'll find more biology and multidisciplinary database links here.
More Chemistry Databases
You'll find more chemistry and multidisciplinary database links here.
Nature
This site contains the complete full text of the journal "Nature" from 1869 to the present.

SciFinder

Each SciFinder user must register for a personal account before searching. It’s advisable to check the instructions before registering and choosing a username and password.

You must use a computer connected to the Pitt network and enter your Pitt email address when registering. Searching SciFinder web requires that Java, JavaScript, and cookies be enabled on the computer.

Important: Please use the link below or the link from the library homepage databases tab to access SciFinder.

SciFinder how-to videos
These "Need-to-Know Videos" cover practical, real-world applications of SciFinder features and capabilities. These videos are each about three minutes long.

University of Pittsburgh Library System

Course & Subject Guides

Biology and Chemistry Capstone - Greensburg Campus

PittCat

Biology & Chemistry Databases, Journals & Articles

SciFinder