Skip to main content

Russian and East European Studies Resources @ Pitt: Getting Started

This guide provides information & annotated links to some of the best resources for doing research on Russia (or the former Soviet Union) and Eastern European Studies.

What Do You Need To Do?

Librarians can help you:

Focus a Topic Consult your textbook, your assignment guidelines, or your professor for appropriate topics.  Our "Developing a Research Topic" tutorial may be of helpful.

Choose a Database and Find Material  Use the "REES Articles" or "PITTCat+" tab above. 

Find a Book Use the "Books" or "PITTCat+" tab above.

Find Country Specific Resources Use the "REES Country Web Resources"  tab above.

Find Statistics  -  Use the "Statistics" Or "Statistical Web Links" tab above.

Cite Your Sources  -  Use the "Writing & Citing" tab above.

Determine if Sources are Scholarly  -  Use the "Evaluating Sources" tab above.

Credit

This research guide was created by Lois Kepes with the assistance of Alexis Stapp, MLIS Graduate Student Intern at Hillman Library, University of Pittsburgh in 2012.  Alexis also researched and developed the country pages.

The country pages were updated in 2016 by Elizabeth England, MLIS Graduate Student Assistant.

About this REES guide ...

This guide highlights important high quality resources for Russia and East European Studies (REES) research.  It also identifies major national and international resources.  The information included here should be treated as entry points for further documentation and bibliography.
The tabs at the top of the page will connect you to categories of resources and information.

About the Russian and East European Studies (REES) Collection

Introduction

The term Russian and East European Studies at the University of Pittsburgh refers to material from and about the following countries: 

Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Bosnia-Hercegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Estonia, Georgia, Hungary, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, Lithuania, Macedonia, Moldova, Montenegro, Poland, Romania, Russia, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, and Uzbekistan.

The Russian and East European Studies (REES) Collection at Pitt

This interdisciplinary subject area covers nearly all areas of the social sciences and humanities related to these countries, as well as material on their environments. The material is in English, languages of these countries, and other Western languages.

For additional resources and information see:  the Department of Slavic Languages and Literatures, the University of Pittsburgh Center for Russian and East European Studies, and the REESWeb: Russian and East European Studies Internet Resources pages.

Hillman Library Resources

The Russian and East European collection consists of over 400,000 volumes, (approximately 260,000 are in the languages of the area), plus hundreds of newspapers and periodicals from or about the region. Many of the latter are in electronic format, on external databases, or on CD-ROM. The East European collection includes nearly 70,000 holdings in Polish literature, history, politics, and culture as well as rare books, newspapers, and musical scores that were formerly housed at Alliance College.

Strengths of the collection are Russian and Polish history, literature, culture, political science, economics, international relations, and the life of immigrants from these REES countries in the United States.  Polish-American resources are especially well-represented at the University of Pittsburgh.  There is also a special collection of Slovak monographs and serials.  Pitt has been actively working to enhance the Slovak, Bosnian/Croatian/Serbian, and Romanian collections overall.  An extensive exchange program of materials with Russian and East European institutions provides material unavailable through other sources.

Holdings estimates are currently about 56 percent Russian centered, 18 percent Polish, 9 percent Serbo-Croatian, 9 percent Romanian, and 8 percent Slovak.

Video Collection

A collection of over 6,000 Russian and East European films, which is under continuous development, is housed in the University's Stark Media Resource Center  located in Hillman Library.

Other Libary Collections

Other materials relating to the region are found in the Frick Fine Arts Library, and the libraries of the Barco Law School and Katz Graduate School of Business.

Curator for Slavic, European, and Global Studies

Dan Pennell
Contact:
University of Pittsburgh

3960 Forbes Avenue

233 Hillman Library

Pittsburgh, PA 15260

Need Help? Chat with us!

 

For more ways to ask your question,
please visit Ask Us/FAQs