Skip to main content

University Archives @ Pitt: People

Guide to collections documenting the history of the University of Pittsburgh

What We Have

The University Archives collects information on individuals that have been affiliated with the university either as faculty, staff, or guests.  The University Archives also has other published resources that may have information on university people. For example, yearbooks, alumni publications and Pitt News articles have information on students. 

The Catalogs and Bulletins have information on the faculty and the courses that they taught. Departmental files may contain information on students activities, faculty and administrators.  Many of the publications, such as the yearbooks, and alumni publications are available online on our Documenting Pitt website.

Images from the Faculty Files

Ivan Elagin

Donald Goldstein

Thomas Starzl

   

Wendell Wray

Faculty Papers

The University Archives collects, preserves and makes accessible the papers of some of our most prominent faculty.  Among those collections are:

Not all Faculty Papers have complete collection guides.  For questions about other faculty members, please contact Archives & Special Collections directly by email or telephone.

 

Individual Information Files

The University Archives keeps personal files on various faculty, staff and other people affiliated with or who visited the University.  These file may contain biographies, faculty information forms, newspaper articles, curricula vitae, and sometimes photographs.  A list of the names of the individuals can be found in the University Archives Personal Information Files.

Images from the Information Files

Albert Einstein, AAAS Meeting, Pittsburgh 1934

Photo by Alexander Silverman, Dept. of Chemistry

Jonas Salk and Elsie Ward

School of Social Work Faculty ca.1962