Skip to main content

Philosophy @ Pitt: Online Databases and Reference Sources

A brief guide to information resources in Philosophy at Pitt.

Databases Focused on Philosophy

The resources on this list focus closely on Philosophy.  They access scholarly articles written by professional philosophers. These databases include the PhilPapers, the Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy, and other sources.

Access Our Library Anywhere!

Pitt Passport Login Image

Access to full-text library resources from off-campus is easy! 

Search as you normally do, click on the link to full-text, log in with your Pitt email login and password, and you're good to go for your entire searching session! Access will work best if you stay in the same browser.

History & Philosophy of Science Databases

These databases contain in-depth articles and information on this subject.

Using the Citation Index Databases

PITTCat+ and PITTCat Classic are excellent ways to start your search for articles  There are certain specialized databases that are quite useful in providing some analysis of  your chosen articles that may meet your scholarly needs. These are the various citation indexes found in the Web of Science. Using these databases you can find out who has cited articles that you are considering for use.  This puts you in the research stream of your topic.

Retrieving Frequently Cited Journals in Philosophy

Web of Science is a database that provides access to articles in the humanities, social sciences, physical sciences and biological sciences.   For any article retrieved it will provide several features:. 

  • It will tell you how often the article has been cited
  • provide a list of articles that have.cited the article that you are interested in
  • Often the research papersare available by simply clicking on the link embedded in its title

Databases Providing Access to Literature in the Sciences and Humanities