Skip to main content

Tips for Navigating Owen Library - Johnstown Campus: About the Library

Don't get lost in Owen Library! Learn how to find and access various resources & services available at Owen Library or through Pitt's University Library System.

Welcome to Owen Library

Part of the University Library System, Owen Library on the University of Pittsburgh's Johnstown Campus contains over 230,000 items and provides access to a vast array of information resources.

Image of the Front of Owen Library

This guide is adapted from a guide authored by Ellen Sexton from Lloyd Sealy Library at John Jay College of Criminal Justice.

Take a Virtual Tour

The library occupies the 1st and 2nd Floors of the Owen Library building. The Academic Success Center, IT-User Services, Print Shop, and "G" classrooms are on the Ground Floor.

Ask a Question

When you do research for your classes, you shouldn't hesitate to ask a reference librarian for assistance. Determining which resources you should choose, knowing how to search them, and being able to incorporate the newly found information into your paper are skills you will need to learn. Becoming a savvy researcher may take a while. In the meantime, you can count on the reference librarians to guide you through the research process.

Feel free to stop by the Information Desk on the 1st floor of the library and talk in person to the librarian on duty.

You can also reach a reference librarian by phone at (814) 269-7300.

In addition, you can ask a question by email or via the IM chat box. A reference librarian will get back to you as soon as possible.

Library Collections & Locations

When searching the online catalog, be sure to note the collection location of the item as well as its call number. Your valid University of Pittsburgh ID card is your library card. Present it to borrow circulating materials and for certain in-library services. 

REFERENCE COLLECTION: 1st Floor, near the public computers. Includes abstracts and indexes. Reference books may be used only within the library. There are two public scanners on the 1st Floor, if you wish to have a copy of a particular source. 

GENERAL COLLECTION: 1st Floor, after the Reference Collection (call numbers A - BX) and 2nd Floor (call numbers C - ZA). The newest books are shelved on the New Books shelves on the 1st Floor near the lounge seating area.

OVERSIZE: 2nd Floor, after the General Collection, on the east side of the library, towards the athletic fields. 

ATLASES: 1st Floor, on the west side of the library, towards Biddle Hall. Atlases may be used only within the library.

PERIODICALS: 1st Floor, behind the Reference Collection. Periodicals are shelved alphabetically by title. The latest issues of a select group of periodicals are shelved by the New Books. Periodicals may be used only within the library. 

COURSE RESERVES: 1st Floor, behind the Information Desk. Most reserve materials may be used only within the library. Ask at the Information Desk for assistance.

AUDIO CDS: 1st Floor, on the east side of the library, towards the athletic fields. 

VIDEOS: 1st Floor, on the east side of the library, towards the athletic fields. Videos may be borrowed for 14 days (no renewals) or viewed within the library, either in the Media Room on the 1st Floor or on a portable DVD player.

GRAPHIC NOVELS: 1st Floor, on the opposite side of the New Books shelves.

CURRICULUM ROOM: 2nd Floor, to the right of the main stairwell. Curriculum materials in this room include juvenile books, and curriculum books, kits, & instructional aids.

MAPS: 2nd Floor, in the back left side study area. 

ARCHIVES and SPECIAL COLLECTIONS: 2nd Floor. These are restricted collections and may not be borrowed. Request to use these items at the Information Desk.

 

Library Hours

Fall and Spring Hours

Mon 8:00 a.m.- 10:30 p.m.
Tue 8:00 a.m.- 10:30 p.m.
Wed 8:00 a.m.- 10:30 p.m.
Thu 8:00 a.m.- 10:30 p.m.
Fri 8:00 a.m.- 5:00 p.m.
Sat 10:00 a.m.- 6:00 p.m.
Sun 2:00 p.m.- 10:30 p.m.

 

 

 

 

 

Summer Hours

Mon 8:00 a.m.- 6:00 p.m.
Tue 8:00 a.m.- 6:00 p.m.
Wed 8:00 a.m.- 6:00 p.m.
Thu 8:00 a.m.- 6:00 p.m.
Fri 8:00 a.m.- 5:00 p.m.
Sat CLOSED  
Sun CLOSED  

 

 

 

 

 

 

Please call the library (814-269-7300) for information regarding holiday and intersession hours.