Skip to main content

History and Philosophy of Science @ Pitt: Online Databases and Reference Sources

A brief guide to library resources useful to Historians and Philosophers of Science

Databases Focused on the History and Philosophy of Science

The resources on this list focus closely on the History and Philosophy of Science.  They access scholarly articles written by professional philosophers and historians of science.  These databases include PhilPapers and the History of Science, Technology, and Medicine databases. 

Access Our Library Anywhere!

Pitt Passport Login Image

Access to full-text library resources from off-campus is easy! 

Search as you normally do, click on the link to full-text, log in with your Pitt email login and password, and you're good to go for your entire searching session! Access will work best if you stay in the same browser.

History & Philosophy of Science Databases

These databases contain in-depth articles and information on this subject.

Using the Citation Index Databases

PITTCat+ and PITTCat Classic are excellent ways to start your search for articles  There are certain specialized databases that are quite useful in providing some analysis of  your chosen articles that may meet your scholarly needs. These are the various citation indexes found in the Web of Science. Using these databases you can find out who has cited articles that you are considering for use.  This puts you in the research stream of your topic.

Databases Providing Access to Literature in the Sciences and Humanities

PITTCat+

PittCat+, University of Pittsburgh, University Library System

Search PITTCat+ for articles, books, & more

 

PITTCat+is the gateway searching tool for all of the materials owned by the University Library system (ULS), including articles, books, e-books, journals, e-journals, e-audio and e-video, digital images, government documents, microfilm and movies.