Skip to main content

Soldier, Writer, Artist, Photographer: Accounts from Europe, 1914-1945 @ Pitt Special Collections: The Exhibit

A guide to accompany the work on exhibit from Fall 2015-Spring 2016 at Hillman Library.

View of Exhibit

Image of the exhibit up on the second floor of Hillman Library while it was on display.

Contact Us

Archives & Special Collections

A&SC at Hillman Library

3960 Forbes Avenue

Pittsburgh, PA 15260

Phone: 412-648-8190

Email: ULS-Archives&SpecialCollections@pitt.edu

Hours:
M-F: 9:00am-4:45pm
 

 

 

Guide Creator

This LibGuide was created by Kiana Gonzalez, 2015-2016 MLIS Diversity Intern, and overseen by Special Collections staff Margaret McGill and Brigitta Arden.

Introduction

This exhibit features works that were created between the years 1914 to 1945 by individuals who were engaged in or documented the First World War, the rise of Fascism, the Spanish Civil War, and World War II in Europe.

Flight to Arras by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry, 1942

Curated by Special Collections in conjunction with the University of Pittsburgh's Department of French and Italian Languages and Literatures in celebration of their 50th anniversary and conference, History and Its Discontents: Commemoration in Italy and the Francophone World, 29-30 October 2015.

 

War Map at the Close of 1917 After Forty Months of Hostilities

Portfolio of the World War, 1917

Search and Browse


Search both digitized material as well as finding aids for all of the ULS archival and manuscript holdings. A separate search on finding aids will provide you with background information and an inventory of the records found within our archival and manuscript collections. See our Guide to Using the Archives for information on how to use our finding aids!

Browse Our Digital Collections

Browse Our Finding Aids

 

Women Clearing a Military Road in the Gorge of Sottoguido, Italy, 1917

Letter Written by Hervey Allen, 15 August 1918

Exhibit Catalogue

Special Thanks

Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh-Main

University Library Systems' Digital Research Library

Hillman Library Inter-Library Loan

Microforms

Web Services

Journals and General Maps Collections