Skip to main content

EndNote for Chinese Databases @ Pitt

This guide introduces the various features and functions of EndNote as a citation management tool, and how to use EndNote for citation management of Chinese electronic resources.

EndNote Overview

EndNote is a popular reference management program. You can use it to save and organize your references, insert and format citations and bibliographies, and to search library databases.

Downloading EndNote Desktop
EndNote X7 is available to Pitt students and faculty for free through the Software Download Service at My Pitt. The site gives detailed instructions on the download process.

EndNote Web is the online component of EndNote. All Pitt students and faculty have access to EndNote Web through Pitt's subscription to the Web of Knowledge database. You can sign up for an account at myendnoteweb.com. For verification purposes, you have to do this from a computer on the Pitt network, using your Pitt email address.

Endnote 是一款流行的参考文献管理软件。你可以用它保存及管理你的参考文献,插入和编排引文和参考书目,也可以搜索图书馆的数据库。EndNote 有桌面版和网络版。系统内置的Sync功能使两种版本里的参考文献保持同步。

EndNote Desktop 桌面版

匹大师生可以通过My Pitt中的软件下载服务免费下载Endnote X7。页面上提供细致的下载过程说明。

EndNote Web  网络版

匹大师生可以通过 Web of Knowledge 数据库订阅端口进入Endnote 网络版。你可以在myendnoteweb.com注册一个账户。为了验证目的,你需要通过在一台有匹大网络的电脑进行这个操作,并使用你的匹大邮箱地址。

EndNote as a reference and full text organizer with a collaborative Web tool:

  • Group references according to your research projects and attach up to 45 files per record for managing related materials.
  • Locate full text PDF files for you or create a reference when importing a PDF file. Synchronize references and file attachments to your EndNote Web account.
  • Share groups with other EndNote users easily and manage your ResearcherID publication list.

EndNote as a bibliography maker

  • Cite While You Write™ takes the pain out of citing and formatting references in Microsoft Word, and OpenOffice.org Writer 3 for Windows. You can also create bibliographies for other word processors using Format Paper (RTF files).

EndNote as an online search tool

  • You can search online bibliographic resources and retrieve references directly into your EndNote library. You can also export references to EndNote from your favorite online resource (see "Direct Export Providers" in EndNote Help).

EndNote的功能

EndNote是一款借助于网页的引用和全文档整理工具。它可以:

  • 根据你的研究项目将参考文献归档,并且每个参考文献可以附加高达45个文件以用来管理相关的材料。
  • 查找一个全文PDF 文件或者当导入一个PDF文件时创建一个参考文献。将你的参考文献和文件附件同步到你的EndNote网页帐户。
  • 很便捷的与其它的EndNote用户分享你的引文,并且管理你的研究者ID发表列表。

EndNote可以生成参考文献目录。

  •  写作与引用同步消除了在微软Word文档或者OpenOffice中引用及修改参考文献格式的痛苦。你也可以利用Format Paper生成针对其他文字编辑器的参考书目。

EndNote是一个在线检索工具

  • 你可以搜索在线的参考文献数据库,并把参考文献信息直接导入到EndNote library。你也可以从你最喜爱的在线数据库中将参考文献导入EndNote(详见EndNote帮助中的“直接导入工具”)。

下表简略比较EndNote桌面版与网络版各自的功能,帮助你了解它们在研究环境中的重要性。更多的信息可从EndNote 网站获得。

Compare features:

EndNote Web

EndNote Web (with EndNote Desktop)

EndNote Desktop

Storage capacity (number of references)

储存容量 (参考文献条目)

10,000

25,000

unlimited

File attachments

文件附件

 

+

+

Figure attachments

图表附件

 

+

+

Capture references from the Web

从网页抓取参考文献

+

+

 

Import from many databases and OPACs

从数据库和联机目录导入参考文献

+

+

+

Cite & format papers with bibliographies

插入引文和参考目录格式化

+

+

+

Create & save advanced searches

进行高级搜索并储存

 

 

+

Customize views & displays

个性化的视窗及显示

 

 

+

Edit reference import filters & output styles

编辑参考文献导入筛选与输出格式

 

 

+

Use term lists for auto-entry

运用术语表自动输入

 

 

+

Cite tables, figures, & equation

引用图表及方程

 

 

+

Work Offline (anytime/anywhere)

离线工作(任何时间/任何地点)

 

 

+

Local Personal Files and Documents

个人文档/文件本地储存

 

 

+

High Performance Desktop Environment

高性能桌面环境

 

 

+

Loading